A password-protected directory is a folder which can't be accessed unless the right login details are offered. This may be a whole site or only a single page that's located within a subfolder. If you attempt to open this kind of a directory, you shall see a browser pop-up in which you will need to input a username and a password. In case you input the right ones, you'll be able to continue surfing around the content without having to do anything more. When the login credentials aren't accurate, however, you will see a message that you are not authorized to see the content. If this feature is enabled, you will not be able to open a file even though you may have a direct link. The function is incredibly handy if you want to prohibit the access to some content or if you work on a site and you do not want visitors to be able to access it prior to it being ready.
Password Protected Directories in Cloud Hosting
Setting up a password-protected area shall take no more than a couple of clicks and a few seconds when you host your Internet sites inside a cloud hosting account with us. You will not have to do anything challenging - you'll need to choose a domain/subdomain, to select which folder under it must be protected, and then to type the login name and password which will be used to access that folder. When a number of individuals need their own login details, there will not be a problem to set up a variety of different usernames with access to the exact same folder. All protected folders shall appear with a padlock icon in the File Manager section, so you'll always know where this feature is active. If you'd like to disable the security function for any folder, you can disable it from the very same section of the CP in which you have enabled it.